Melinsey Mill, situated in a lush wooded valley near the Cornish village of Veryan, is working museum in a restored water mill and is well worth a visit.
The local family business is run from a fully restored sixteenth century water mill. Melinsey is a one off, a wonderfully Cornish mixture of both eccentricity and charm.
A watermill has occupied the site since 1210. The present mill dates to 1565. The 16 feet cast iron water wheel dates to 1882 and came from a foundry in Truro. Melinsey is a Grist Mill, which means it would produce fodder for livestock.
Originally the mill had two sets of stones enabling it to produce granary flour as well. The stone grinding the flour would have come from Brittany, which was the closest and easiest route for transport to Cornwall.
The stones now at the mill are grist stones and would have been made from local Cornish granite. The wheel and gearing were once made from oak, elm and applewood.
Melinsey Mill (the name derives from melyn meaning corn mill) was refurbished in recent years, it now houses a small mill museum and a country crafts shop selling items made from willow. The water wheel is fed by the mill pool. Picnic tables are situated under the trees beside the pool.
Cafe & tea room serving coffee, snacks, light lunches, afternoon tea & cream teas.
Admission is free.