OS grid reference :- SW8739
The sleepy village of Phileigh, know in Cornish as Eglosros, meaning heath church, lies lies around seven and a half miles southeast of Truro on the Roseland Peninsula and lies on the east bank of the River Fal.
An ancient settlement, Eglosrose is referred to in the Domesday Book of 1086 and was formerly held by Earl Harold Godwinson (the Saxon King Harold II) , at the time of the Domesday survey it was owned by Robert, Count of Mortain, the half-brother of William the Conqueror.
The village used to lie on the old coach road from London to Penzance, when all traffic crossed over the on the King Harry Ferry, which has been in service since the medieval era.
The charming Roseland Inn at Phileigh, (pictured left) dates from the sixteenth century. The pub features characterful low beamed ceilings, Cornish slate floors and has aquired a reputation for good food. The Roseland Inn offers a full lunchtime and evening menu, crammed with country rustic dishes which are home made using all local produce from Cornwall.
The remains of the mansion of the Arundells are situated at Talvernew, two medieval chapels associated with it which were mentioned in 1384 as Tolverne Cottage.
Below Philleigh and situated on the estuary next to The King Harry ferry lies the seventeenth century Smuggler's Cottage. Now a restaurant and cafe, it was in the centre of the D-day landing preparation during World War II and was where President Dwight D. Eisenhower stayed during the preperations. Smuggler's Cottage forms part of the Tregothnan estate, which is Cornish for 'house at the head of the valley', the estate boasts 40 hectares on the Roseland Peninsula and provides superb views of the river Fal.
The white granite village church (pictured right) is dedicated to St Fili or Filius, who is thought to have been a Welsh or Irish monk from Glastonbury who arrived in Cornwall with two other local saints St Kea and St Ru. The building mostly dates from the fifteenth although the tower is thirteen century, a major restoration was carried out in Victorian times. A church has occupied the site since the seventh century. The octagonal church font dates to the thirteenth century.
The Philleigh Country Fayre, a popular event in the village, is held on two separate Wednesdays in July and August. There are traditional games like hay-bail throwing, duck racing and dog racing and a closing game of egg throwing completes the event.