OS grid reference - SW 705 268
The pleasant and tranquil south Cornish village of Gweek, known in Cornish as Gwig, meaning forest village, is situated on the Helford River, around 3 miles to the east of Helston and has been a thriving port since Roman times.
The village, which is of ancient origins, derives its unusual name from the Latin word Vicus, confirming a Roman presence in the area. It is thought that a port existed here as long ago as 450 BC when tin was traded with the Phoencians.
In Medieval times Gweek became the busiest harbour in the area since Helston ceased to be a viable owing to the build up of Loe Bar. As early as 1201, Gweek was important enough to possess a merchant guild as well as acquiring burgess privileges.
Gweek has a pub, the Black Swan, which offers a home cooked menu and a combined shop and post office.
Country lanes lead out from the village to pleasant Boskenwyn Downs and open on to a straight road which was probably first constructed in the Roman era to transport tin. Since early times the valleys in this area have been streamed for tin, ancient tin moulds may still be observed in the quay walls.
The National Seal Sanctuary, situated on the Helford estuary, was founded in 1958 and cares for injured and orphan seal pups. The sanctuary is the largest of its kind in Europe. Its objectives have been expanded since opening and it now offers care for all marine animals.