OS grid ref:- SW381356
It is situated in the farmyard at Pendeen Manor farm, close to Pendeen Manor House, which was once the home of the early archaeologist William Borlase, who was born there in 1693 and is considered to be the 'father of Cornish archaeology.
The term fogou derives from the Cornish word for cave, Pendeen Fogou dates to the Iron Age, the original purpose of the fogou is lost in the mists of time.
The monument measures around seventeen meters long, the present entrance is situated in a stone wall backed by earth, the original entrance is not known. The first part of the Pendeen Fogou is a downward sloping corridor that measures around 7 metres, two smaller corridors branch off at the end of the main passage, whose roof has partially collapsed.
The fogou stands on private land, it therefore only accessible by asking permission at Pendeen Manor farm.