OS Grid ref:- SW 6949
Chapel Porth beach, which is owned by the National Trust, lies in a cove between high dramatic, heather clad cliffs. The resort lies around two miles south of the popular seaside village of St. Agnes.
At high tide the beach is quite small but at low tide extends to an expanse of white sand that spreads from St. Agnes Head to Porthtowan. Care should be exercised to ensure that you are not cut off by the incoming tide.
The beach, which is backed by high cliffs at its north and south ends, is famous for its great surfing. The National Trust provides a car park and there is an additional car park at the top of the hill above the cove. A lifeguard service operates daily at Chapel Porth from May - September and there is a cafe on the beach.
Evidence of the area's mining heritage abounds. The famous Wheal Coates engine house looms dramatically on the cliffs above. One of Cornwall's most iconic mines, the mine produced mainly tin and is about a half a mile walk from the cove.
The mine goes all the way down to the sea and at low tide, some of the mine workings can be accessed via a large cave at the far end of Chapel Porth beach. Local legend reputedly states that Wheal Coates is haunted. Possibly the most picturesque location for a tin mine in Cornwall, the Towanroath pumping engine house was constructed in 1872 and is now owned by the National Trust.
It pumped water from the 600 feet deep Towanroath Shaft of the Wheal Coates Copper and Tin Mine. The grilled shaft still visible just to the east of the engine house with the main workings lying just below the low water mark.
The coastal path from Chapel Porth to St. Agnes Head offers superb views.