Lawrence House, Launceston
OS Grid ref:-
Dating back to 1753, Lawrence House a fine Georgian house in the north Cornish town of Launceston is owned by the National Trust and leased to Launceston Town Council, it is used as a local museum and civic centre. Built by former Mayor of Launceston, Humphrey Lawrence, the house is located on Castle Street, a street which John Betjemen described as 'having the most perfect collection of eighteenth Century townhouses in Cornwall'.
The museum has themed rooms and is spread over three floors with exhibits that focus predominantly on local history including Launceston's intriguing association with Australia.
Rooms feature local history, Launceston at war, a scale model of the old Southern Railway Station, and one dedicated to Launceston's famous sons,: John Couch Adams, astromomer & discoveror of Neptune, Charles Causley, poet & broadcaster, William Wise, herbalist & plant collector. In 1787, Philip Gidley King, a Launceston man, who in 1787 sailed as 2nd Lieutenant of HMS Sirius which accompanied the first fleet of convicts sent to Australia. He became the third Governor of New South Wales. An exhibition tells the fascinating stories of the convicts and of Launceston, Tasmania, a reminder of the Cornish connection on the other side of the world.
There's a toy room where children can play, as well as look, and a Victorian kitchen that features an original range and mangle.
Also on display is a collection of costumes that date from the eighteenth century right through to the 1960s.
Admission is free but donations, which support the work of the museum, are appreciated.