OS Grid ref:- SX 130 521
The picturesque riverside fishing village of Bodinnick lies on the east bank of the River Fowey, opposite the town of Fowey. It is known in Cornish as Bosdinek, meaning fortified dwelling.
Many of the farms in the area date back to the time of the Domesday Book of 1086, and much of the surrounding landscape, which is in the care of the National Trust, has changed very little since.
A ferry crosses the river from Fowey to Bodinnick, which is said to have existed since the thirteenth century, it once belonged to the manor of Bodinnick at Hall.
The Old Ferry Inn, glorified as "in the heart of Du Maurier country", is a 400-year-old building on the steep lane down to the riverside. The Inn has many traditional features together with a panoramic dining room which gives fantastic river views towards the town of Fowey and the village of Polruan. a varied menu is available all day.
Blue Cottage at Bodinnick was once the jail where prisoners from Fowey were placed overnight, before being sent to the assizes at Launceston.
Daphne du Maurier wrote many novels, including 'The Loving Spirit' while living at Ferryside (pictured right), situated on the river bank. The figurehead of the ship Jane Slade which features in the novel is mounted on Ferryside. The house is said to be still owned by her family, the writer herself later moved to Menabilly following the publication of her novel Rebecca.
During the civil war, a Royalist army marched along this route to meet the Parliamentarians. On 17th August 1644, King Charles I, when on his way to Lanteglos, to the Manor House belonging to Lord Mohun, narrowly escaped death, when a shot fired along Hall Walk missed him and killed a fisherman instead. The Mohun family never returned to Hall after it was destroyed in the civil war
The village is situated at the beginning of the famous Hall Walk to Polruan and is popular with walkers. One of the area’s best loved routes, the Hall Walk winds its way along a wooded valley on the Fowey estuary, high above the waters of Pont Creek, before dropping down to the crossing point at Pont. The woods are now a haven for birds and wildlife. The Hall Walk was donated to the National Trust after the Second World War by the Shakerly family and owners of Hall Farm.
The nearest beaches are only a few minutes drive at Lantic Bay and Lansallos.
The Hall Walk
Distance - 4 miles (6.5km)
Duration - Around 2 hours 30 minutes
(1) Commencing at Bodinnick slipway, proceed up the steep lane passing the Old Ferry Inn. Part-way up the hill on the right is a narrow footpath signed Hall Walk. Follow the footpath to the 'Q' memorial then along steep path down to the water's edge at Penleath Point.
(2) Continue along the path which runs high along the northern bank of Pont Pill. At the end of the wooded section, pass through the stile and kissing gate, walk along the field fenceline for a short way before taking the right hand gate back into the woods.
(3) On reaching a junction, turn sharp right, almost doubling back, and continue down to the small hamlet of Pont.
(4) Cross the wooden bridge to the southern shore of Pont Pill and continue up the path passing cottages on your right. Take the first path on the right signed Polruan.
(5) Follow the path uphill through a gate and into a series of fields. The path runs along the top and then through a gate entering woodland. At this gate take the lower path and remain on it all the way to Polruan.
(6) From Polruan, take the ferry back to Bodinnick.