OS Grid ref:- SW 7337
The villiage of Stithians, also known as St Stythians and in Cornish as Sen Stedhyans is situated at the centre of the triangle bounded by the towns of Redruth, Helston and Falmouth. It is bordered in the north by the old tin mining area of Camborne and Redruth and to the south by stone quarries and to the west by Stithians Reservoir.
The Parish includes the villages of Stithians and Longdowns as well as several hamlets such as Penhalvean, Goonlaze, Trembroath and Trethellan Water. Stithians contains many old granite cottages interspersed with more recent buildings. The surrounding countryside is farm and woodland. The little River Kennel rises near Carn Meneles and intersected the parish. In the nineteenth century, the river worked a number of flour mills, and machinery at a foundry and paper works. On its course into Restronguet Creek, it was thought to have turned forty water wheels.
The granite village church, a Grade II listed building, is dedicated to St Stythian, who is difficult to identify due to the many different spellings of his name. A church has occupied the site since the sixth century, the oldest part of the present church dates to the fourteenth century, while the embattled and pinnacled tower was added in the fifteenth century.There is an ancient carved stone fragment over the east window of the north aisle. In the south wall is a fifteenth century priest's doorway.
John Wesley visited Stithians in 1744-50 and brought Methodism to the area. The Hendra Wesleyan Chapel was built in 1815.Stithians Show is one of the largest one-day agricultural shows in Britain, being held annually in July and the attendance is in excess of 20,000. Established in 1834, it has been held continuously since then (except for three years during World War I, and five years during World War II; and there was no show in 2001 due to the nationwide outbreak of foot and mouth disease). Up until 1992, the Show was sited on fields in the centre of the village. Then the threat of rental increases as well as the show's increasing size encouraged the Agricultural Association to purchase its own land at Kennall Farm and establish a site there.
Stithians Lake Country Park
The three hundred acre Stithians Reservoir lies to the west of the village. The was created when a dam was built in 1964. Stithians Reservoir is a hot spot for birdwatching, other activites such as sailing and fishing. and being considered one of the windiest inland waters in England, is a favourite with windsurfers and sailors.
Most of the reservoir is fairly shallow and dabbling rather than diving ducks dominate with 100 each at least of Teal and Wigeon. Mallard, Gadwall, Tufted Duck, Pochard and Goldeneye are often present but in smaller numbers.With over five and a half miles of bank, walkers and bird watchers will enjoy the peaceful surroundings and bird hides.
At the lake visitors can enjoy a range of water-based activities including sailing, windsurfing, kayaking, roller balls and multi-activity days.
The new Outdoor and Active Centre offers unrivalled watersports facilities with sailing, windsurfing and canoeing activities available, the new centre provides modern and well-equipped facilities both on and off the water.
In addition to the new centre there is also a brand new children's play area overlooking the lake, a trim trail for those who enjoy land based fitness, and a newly surfaced cycle way leading to the dam.
The circular walk around the lake is just under 5 miles, part of which is along a minor road. There is also a cycleway and fitness trail along the northern shore, and public footpaths may be accessed from the western shore for longer walks. A wide range of quality specialized mountain bikes are available for full or half days hire at Explorer Cycle Hire which is based at the lake.