OS Grid ref:- SX0676
The picturesque and tranquil Cornish village of St. Tudy, is situated close to the western edge of bleak and brooding Bodmin Moor. It lies in farmland between the rivers Camel and Allen and is bounded on the east by St Breward.
St Tudy, which is known in Cornish as Eglostudi, is mentioned in the Domesday Book of 1086 as Eglostudic. The village derives its name from St. Tudy of Landevennec, a Breton saint of the fifth or sixth century who founded monasteries and churches in Brittany. St, Tudy may possibly have been a disciple of Saint Mawes, from whom St Mawes derives its name. He served as abbot of a community of monks near Landevennec in Brittany. He was one of three monks proposed as the first Bishop of Cornouaille but the final vote went to St Corentin.
The attractive village church, which stands at the centre of St. Tudy is surrounded by the Celtic circular churchyard. The present building dates from the fifteenth century but occupies the site of the earlier church which was built in the sixth century.
Dedicated to St Tudy, the church is a Grade I Listed Building and consists of a chancel, nave, south aisle, and a short north aisle. The building was extensively restored in the 1830's and in 1873. The tower was repaired in 1887-8. Nothing remains of the original church, except for a carved head on the first pillar in the present church's porch which was discovered in the rubble under the altar during the repaving of the sanctuary in 1932. The coped gravestone in the south aisle, and the wayside cross at the junction of St Tudy with Michaelstow, are a similar age.
On the north side of the churchyard is situated a medieval rectangular stone building which dates to the thirteenth century, known by locals as the Clink, it originally served as a church ale house, but was later used as the local constable's lock-up. it was restored and opened to the public in 1986.
The village also has a Methodist chapel which dates to the Victorian era, a post office, a shop, an original forge and a pub/restaurant, the Cornish Arms, which dates back to the sixteenth century. The pub is in a classic style with beams and a traditional slate floor in the bar. The restaurant offers a wide menu using local produce.
St. Tudy is also the village where Captain Bligh of Mutiny on the Bounty fame grew up, he was born at nearby Tinten Manor in 1754. The Bligh family lived at Tinten for several generations, some of them became mayors of Bodmin.
Image 2 copyright Kim Appleby
A moorland walk from St. Tudy
Distance- 2 miles
Duration- around an hour
From the blacksmith's cottage & forge in St. Tudy near the junction and turn right. Continue down Chapel Lane, the road bears sharply left past the turning to the Cornish Arms Pub. Continue to a detached cottage to the left of which is a lane.
(2) The lane continues as a narrow path with overhanging trees, on arriving at a five bar gate providing access into one of the many fields surrounding St. Tudy. The path heads along the edge of the field to a stile leading into the next field.
(3) Keep following the edge of the field until reaching a granite stile leading into the field on the left. The path then runs diagonally across the field to a stile in the far corner. Cross the stile to a "T" junction with the B3266 road.
(4) Turn left up the lane heading west away from the main road. Continue until raching the crossroads and turn left towards St. Tudy.
(5) Follow the road, passing Bodinnick House on your right, on arriving at the junction with the Wadebridge road, turn left to return to the centre of St. Tudy.